Our region

Get to know our region by reading the specific section that follows the general navigation instructions.

For your better navigation on our website, we have mentally defined the region as Northern Pelion, Eastern Pelion, Central Pelion, Southern Pelion and Western Magnesia.

Northern Pelion includes the following villages and settlements:

Katihori – Portaria – Chania – Drakia – Makrinitsa – Koukourava – Kerasia.

Eastern Pelion:

Zagora – Puri – Chorefto – Makrirrachi – Agioi Saranda – Anilio – Agios Dimitrios – Kissos – Agios Ioannis – Damouchari – Mouresi – Tsagarada – Xurihti – Labinou – Kalamaki – Neohori.

Central Pelion:

Agios Vlasios – Agios Lavrentios – Agios Georgios Nilias – Pinakates – Agios Athanasios – Byzitsa – Milies – Afetes – Argyreika – Zervochia – Ano and Kato Lechonia – Platanidia – Malaki – Ano and Kato Gatzea – Agia Triada – Kala Nera – Koropi (Boufa).

Southern Pelion:

Afissos – Lefokastro – Kalamos – Argalasti – Siki – Xynovrisi – Potistika – Paltsi – Lyri – Katigiorgis – Kastri – Platanias – Mikro – Agia Kyriaki – Trikeri – Kottes – Chondri Ammos – Agios Andreas – Milina – Horto – Lafkos – Metohi – Promyri.

Western Magnesia:

Kritharia – Agios Georgios Kinigon – Marathos – Megali Velanidia – Hrysi Akti Panagias – Dimini – Velestino – Almyros – Vrynaina – Amaliapoli – Sourpi – Nies – Pteleos and Pigadi.

Separate sections is Volos, where the following areas have been included:

Alli Meria – Agios Onoufrios – Anakasia – Ano Volos – Nees Pagases (Alykes) – Agios Stefanos (Soros) – Nea Ionia – Fitoko.

As well as Agria, Nea Anchialos and the islands of SkiathosSkopelosAlonissos.

About our region

The region of Magnesia is one of the most beautiful parts of Greece as it perfectly combines the green of the mountain with the blue of the sea, ranking it among the first preferences of Greeks as well as many foreign visitors. The Pelion peninsula, due to the fact that it is washed simultaneously by the Pagasitic gulf and the Aegean sea, pleasantly surprises us with the change of images and landscapes, as it gives us the opportunity to visit both the mountain and the sea in just a short time, making Pelion one of the most unique mountains in all of Greece.

Our area has been known since ancient times as «The land of Centaurs and Argonauts» and is mentioned in several of the most important Greek myths.

Its name came from the Genarch of the region, Magnes, who was either the son of Aeolos, or Zeus or Argos, who settled in Pelion around the 12th century BC. For millennia, Gods, demigods, centaurs, titans, giants, nymphs and dryads, kings, heroes and warriors have walked on it. Pelion was home to the mythological beings called Centaurs, who had the form of a man from the waist up and the form of a horse from the waist down, with the most famous Centaur being Chiron.

The wise teacher and mystic, Centaur Chiron, who knew the secrets of nature, arts, medicine, herbs, music, astrology and divination, taught Asclepius, the father of medicine, as well as Jason, Peleus, Hercules and Achilles. Jason set sail from Magnesia with his ship named Argo and the Argonauts for the Argonautic expedition.

The land of our area is therefore dominated by the beautiful Pelion mountain, which in addition to being the home of the Centaurs, was also the summer residence of the Gods of Olympus, the field of the mythical «Giant Battle» and also the area where in ancient times, during a severe sea storm, a part of the fleet of the Persian king Xerxes was destroyed on the rocks of Karavostasia bay, located north of the beach of Mylopotamos in Tsagarada as some historians claim about.

Our region consists of more than 70 picturesque villages and settlements that are great touristic destinations. The majority of these villages are built with the characteristic traditional Pelion architecture style, starting from its mountainous mass, to the particularly lovely fishing villages of Pagasitikos.

Pelion with an altitude of 1624m, really looks like a magical green embrace, a mountain that fascinates both its visitors and us locals throughout the year, changing colors, shapes and scents, following the changes of the seasons.. The mountain of gardenias, camellias and of aromatic herbs, which offers us unique sensory and aesthetic pleasures with its wonderful verdant forests, towering chestnut and walnut trees, its centuries-old and shady plane trees, its productive olive groves, delicious apple and fruit orchards.

It fascinates us with its infinite cobblestones and path ways, the exotic of incomparable beauty beaches of the Aegean, but also the dreamy sandy beaches of Pagasitikos that give us exquisite sunsets. Also its unique train, the so-called «Moutzouris» which was built by the father of the famous painter Giorgio De Chirico, Evaristo de Chirico and started its first routes in 1897, with its familiar whistle still heard in the summers on its slopes and bridges and its ski center in Agriolefkes in Chania, ideable for ski lovers.

Myths, legends, traditions and historical memories hover alive over its fairy-tale villages, whispering their fascinating stories sometimes through the rustle of the thick foliage in every breath of the wind and sometimes engraved with extraordinary skill on the marble facades of the mansions, artfully carved in the sanctuaries of the small churches and the special aesthetic monasteries.

Some of its most developed touristic villages are Tsagarada, which is located 49 km from Volos and dates back to 1600. The village consists of 4 neighborhoods which took their names from the churches located in their squares: Agioi Taxiarches which is also the oldest settlement, Agia Paraskevi where in its square is the oldest plane tree which is estimated to be 1000 years old and the circumference of its trunk reaches 15m, Agios Stefanos and Agia Kyriaki. In the area of Tsagarada we can visit the sea cave “Panagia i Megalomata” which according to tradition is located next to the “Hidden School” where a monk during the Turkish occupation around 1668 taught the children. We can also admire the excellent churches, its stone-built schools preserved as monuments, to taste the delicacies of the local restaurants, to choose our accommodation among a multitude of traditional accommodations and to swim in the crystal clear waters of Mylopotamos Bay and the green waters of Fakistra beach. In addition we can visit the beautiful Damouhari, north of Tsagarada, where several scenes of the well-known film production “Mamma Mia” were filmed.

The historic village of Milies located 27km from Volos, where three distinguished Greeks lived from the mid-18th to the mid-19th century, three teachers of Greek Genus, three worthy children of the village, Anthimos Gazis, Grigorios Konstantas and Daniel Filippidis, with the first of them on May 7, 1821 after the Divine Liturgy, to raise the flag of the Thessalian Revolution against the Turks in the temple of the Pamegiston Taxiarchon at the main square.

A copy of the historical flag can still be found today in the Milies Folklore Museum, which is well worth a visit. The result of the liberal views of those three men, as well as their strong desire to contribute to the spiritual renaissance of their country, was the establishment of the Milies School, which officially began operating in August 1815.

With a visit to the excellent Public Library of the village, we will admire among other exhibits and personal belongings of Gazi and Konstantas, thousands of volumes of old editions printed books from the end of the 15th century to 1900 and many manuscripts. Finally, after touring the stone-built cobbled streets of the village, taking photos in front of its preserved traditional mansions, we can relax enjoying our meal under the shade of the plane trees in the central square gazing at Pagasitikos Gulf.

Zagora village, which is located 44km from Volos, developed during the last Byzantine Times when there was a great flourishing of monastic life in Pelion, around the Monastery of the Transfiguration of the Savior, (Metamorfosi tou Sotiros) as many small settlements developed into a prosperous large settlement, named Zagora, where monks and ordained scholars educated young Greeks in monasteries and churches, maintaining the flame for freedom, during the Turkish Occupation Times.
Two such educational centers operated, in the monastery of Sotiros which was simply called «Scholio» and in the monastery of Agios Prodromos which was called «Hellinomousio» and was founded around 1702, with its students, in addition to the Greek language, being taught mathematics, physics, astronomy, geography, philosophy, history and foreign languages.

Preserving the original beauty of the settlements of Pelion, with its stone houses and elegant mansions, its elaborate fountains, its traditional coffee shops, such as the ones located in the beautiful square of Agios Georgios, where we will rest ourselfs drinking coffee and admiring the amazing view of the Aegean, Zagora is undoubtedly the princess of northeastern Pelion.

The village is the main apples production area with exports all over the world. The port of Zagora is the beautiful Chorefto with a long pebble beach, crystal clear waters, several restaurants – taverns and tourist infrastructure.

The beautiful Makrinitsa, located just 10 km from Volos, which El. Venizelos characterized in 1934 as «the balcony of Pelion», since its square literally hangs over Volos and the surrounding area, offering a unique panoramic view and in that square there is the traditional Cafe Theofilos where it is decorated with a painting by the famous folk painter Theofilos. The beautiful Makrinitsa, where in 1968 was filmed the Greek movie «The teacher with the golden hair» starring the famous star Aliki Vougiouklakis. The village with the countless traditional mansions, many of which have been converted into guest houses, the Byzantine Museum, the Museum of Folk Art and History of Pelion, the Holy Churches of the Dormition of the Virgin Mary and of Agios Ioannis Prodromos, which has a rich stone carving decoration.

Argalasti, located 37 km from Volos, in the center of South Pelion and is, among other things, a middle stop for those heading to the nearby beaches of Pagasitikos: Lefokastro, Kalamos, Horto and Milina or the open Aegean: Potistika, Melani and Paltsi. In the wider area where the Municipality of Argalastis is currently developing, there were several organized communities in the ancient times, like Olizona, Sepiada and Spalathra as evidenced by the multitude of archaeological finds, vases, coins, statues especially during the 6th century BC. A large village therefore, with an equally rich cultural tradition following the rest of the other large villages of Pelion, as for the period 1860-1880 the schools that operated under adverse conditions like the «Greek School» or Argalasti School, have been recorded. In the school year 1910 -11, the well-known Greek writer and poet Kostas Varnalis also served as headmaster of this school.

It is worth visiting the Church of the Holy Apostles near the central square which was built in 1886, as it is an excellent example of a three-aisled basilica church architecture style, built by the designs of the architect Perpignan, while its bell tower is said to be a faithful copy of the bell tower of Saint Photini of Smyrna. It was built in 1913, made of marble and it has two Russian bells and a Swiss clock. We will also notice that in the walls of many mansions are embedded parts of ancient and medieval buildings, which adds another charm to the atmosphere of the village.
In its picturesque square with its traditional coffee shops and taverns, we will enjoy various exquisite dishes and we will admire the Centaur engraved in a marble circle in the center of its paved floor. As a capital village, it has an elementary school, a high school, a post office and a health center.

Capital of our region is the wonderful Volos, a city with a long history, since our area, the ancient Magnesia, is among the first areas to be inhabited in Greece. In fact, the neighboring settlements discovered in the nearby villages of Sesklo and Dimini date from the 7th millennium BC.

The current city of Volos began to be built shortly after 1830 and through all the historical events, it developed into an important industrial center, as well as an important cultural and social activity. From the “glorious days” of the past, fortunately several unique architectural masterpieces, neoclassical buildings and also some industrial areas that were utilized with other more modern uses, such as museums, university areas, etc. have survived to this day. Volos has a well-structured street plan, where most of its roads lead to the main coastal road next to the sea, the familiar to all of us «paralia», which teems with life throughout the year, providing unique moments of relaxation and entertainment for the residents and its visitors. A point of reference are the famous «tsipouradika» which following the tradition, provide us with their excellent appetizers together with our local drink, tsipouro!

Due to its geographical position in the Pagasitic Gulf, the protected natural port of Volos is the third largest commercial port in Greece. Its an important center for trade, fishing and passenger shipping to the nearby islands of the Sporades with daily routes. Every year the city welcomes a multitude of visitors through the luxury cruise ships that sail at regular intervals. It also offers a marina for the mooring of private boats which currently has 280 boat parking spaces with the possibility of further development, as well as several sailing schools.

During the Christmas period as a dream tourist destination, the city puts on its festive decorations, fills with colorful lights decorating every neighborhood of the center, floods with music and colors and takes us on a pleasant journey through a wide range of events, reminding us that all of us.. will always hide a child in our heart!

In the Western part of our region, 17 km from Volos, we find Velestino, located in the place of ancient Pheres, a city that according to Homer took part in the Trojan War and later was the hometown of Rigas Velestinlis or Fereus, a writer, politician, thinker and revolutionary, who is considered a National Martyr and precursor of the Greek Revolution of 1821.

Also at the western side of Magnesia, 18 km from the city of Volos, we find Nea Aghialos, a town with a long history that takes us from ancient Pyrassos to the foundations of ancient Phthiotides Thebes. Many archaeological finds are exhibited in its archaeological site to this day. Aghialos is therefore a town with many famous vineyards that produce their fine wines, but also a beautiful summer tourist destination.Every August in a very beautiful green area next to the sea, is taking place the famous «Wine Festival» which is another attraction for many visitors. The city, which has nothing to envy against other well-known tourist proposals, has a picturesque natural harbor, a beautiful coastal promenade for leisurely walks, a variety of taverns and restaurants, some of them literally located on the sea, offering every visitor a comfortable, relaxed and happy stay.

Near Nea Aghialos is located the International Airport which serves a large number of tourists from Spring to mid-Autumn.

Continuing our route to the Western side of Magnesia and further south, 44km from the city of Volos, we reach the city of Almyros, which is the dynamic continuation of the ancient city named Alos, founded by King Athamas. Almost the entire plain of Almyros – Sourpi was the so-called Athamantio Field, which took its name from the king, who also was the husband of Nefeli and the father of Phrixos and Helli, who according to the well-known legend, their mother fled them with a golden ram in order to save them from the will of their father who wanted their sacrifice.
The myth describes how as the two brother and sister were flying over the Bosphorus, Helli fell from the ram, and for this, the area is called Hellespont. Her brother Phrixos finally traveled to distant Colchis and after the ram was sacrificed to the Gods, its skin was kept as a talisman, becoming the famous golden fleece for which the Argonauts traveled to Colchis.

The area has a rich mythology, since Alos was also known for its port and the role it played both during the Persian wars and during the Trojan war. Alos was the capital of the state of the Myrmidons and of the famous Homeric hero, Achilles, who sail out for Troy from Nies, which today is a beautiful coastal settlement. The wider area of Almyros also boasts a picturesque and verdant coastline with beautiful picturesque fishing villages for peaceful holidays, as well as excellent mountain villages ideal for alternative adventures.

In Magnesia’s island part we find the Northern Sporades, the verdant «precious emeralds of the Aegean» with regular ferry connections to Volos, Evia, Agios Konstantinos and Thessaloniki, consisting of Skiathos, which according to legend owes its name to Mount Athos, whose shadow, as they say, reaches Skiathos (Shadow + Athos in Greek gives us the Skia + Athos), hometown of Alexander Papadiamantis, one of the most important writers of Greece, also known as «the saint of Greek literature» with a wealth of excellent writing.

An island with world fame in terms of its natural beauty, the picturesque Bourji fortress in the center of the city, its beautiful sandy and non-sandy beaches, its crystal clear blue waters, the great tourism development since it has one of the most odd International Airports located right next to the sea and the promenade and the intense nightlife that make it a unique summer destination for all ages.

Skopelos, which in ancient times was called Peparithos and is considered the greenest island of the Aegean as more than 67% of its area is covered by dense pine forests. Distinguished for its lacy shores, its traditional island mansions, its wonderful cobblestone paths, its 24 monasteries, the many old traditional churches and chapels perched on the rocks overlooking the Aegean. Skopelos, which among many others was the hometown of the Olympic runner in the Stadium race, during the 53rd Olympiad in 568 BC. called Agnon Peparithios.

Most of the filming of the well-known film production “Mamma Mia” took place on the island, with many famous protagonists. It is also known worldwide for its amazing traditional handmade and delicious Skopelos pie. Skopelos has two ports, Chora and Loutraki in Glossa.

The also green Alonissos, which according to historical findings, in ancient times was called Ikos and was first inhabited in the Middle Paleolithic era, where the oldest remains of human presence in the Aegean were found. Tradition states that the Cretans, during the Minoan Times rule in the Aegean in the 16th century. BC, they founded colonies in Peparithos (Skopelos) and Ikos, led by the mythical hero Staphylos, and at that time began on the island the cultivation of olives and vines. At the end of the Mycenaean era, Peleus, father of Achilles, went to Alonissos, who stayed there until the end of his life and according to tradition, in Alonnisos was the tomb of the mythical king of the Myrmidons. During the Classical period the island was famous for the cultivation of the vine and its fine wines were exported in amphorae which bore the inscription “IKION” on one of the two handles.

In the north-east of Alonissos, further north of Strovili beach, is located the «Blue Cave», which can only be reached from the sea and is also called “Papanikolis cave” because during the Second World War, the submarine of the same name took refuge there.The island today is one of the most beautiful habitats in Greece, since it is part of the National Marine Park and consists of a very important underwater ecosystem.
The loggerhead turtle (Caretta caretta) and the green turtle (Chelonia mydas) are found there, and as far as marine mammals are concerned, the rare Mediterranean seal (Monachus monachus) and a multitude of dolphins find refuge in the Park. It is also a beautiful alternative tourist destination, for those looking for tranquility, contact with nature and underwater explorations.
It also has picturesque fishing villages with traditional tavernas, uniquely beautiful blue waters and equally beautiful beaches.